Licensing the activity of Cryptocurrency Exchange in Japan | Law&Trust International

Licensing the activity of Cryptocurrency Exchange in Japan

Japanese legislation on payment services was significantly modified. Since April 2017 amendments to the financial legislation of the country entered into force. Issue concerning exchange of cryptocurrency to traditional settlement funds was regulated for the first time ever. Persons intending to provide such services are obliged to obtain the license for exchange of cryptocurrencies.

Let’s consider certain requirements set by the Japan regulatory body to potential candidates to obtain the license for exchanging operations with cryptocurrencies.

What are the requirements to the company?

Organizational and legal form. There are two situations to consider in context of this point.

  • Resident of Japan wants to register the company. In this case it is necessary to register the entity with the organizational and legal form of joint-stock company. Availability of the registered office in Japan is also required.
  • Non-resident of Japan wants to register the company. In this case it is necessary to register the branch of foreign company. In the same way, the registered office in Japan is required.

Authorized capital

  • Minimum amount of authorized capital is equal to 10 million Japanese yen, which are approximately equal to 90 thousand US dollars.

Personnel

  • It is mandatory to include to the company staff employees responsible for the financial part of the company operations. The staff also should include at least one resident of Japan as a director. In addition, it is necessary for the company to use professional services of the person or entity, which are related to verifying compliance of the company activity with Japanese legislation.  

How long does it take to obtain the license for the cryptocurrency exchange?
Which requirements should be met in daily activity of the company?
The procedure of filing documents to the Japanese regulatory body takes approximately 3-4 months. It includes collection and obtaining necessary documentation, negotiation with regulatory body, as well as procedure of filing documents itself. Waiting for the answer takes 1-2 months.
Points hereinabove were related directly to the licensing of cryptocurrency exchange in Japan. However, individuals and legal entities that represent such services must comply with the following additional requirements: Division of assets of the company and clients; Conducting an annual audit; Implementation of the client identification procedure; Observance of requirements prescribed by law related to personal data protection.

Our clients

Our team

Лицензирование деятельности криптовалютной биржи в Японии | Law&Trust International

Лицензирование деятельности криптовалютной биржи в Японии

Японское законодательство в сфере платежных услуг претерпело значительных изменений начиная с апреля 2017 года, когда вступили в законную силу изменения финансового законодательства страны. Впервые был урегулирован вопрос обмена криптовалют на традиционные средства платежа. Лица, желающие предоставлять такие услуги, обязаны получить лицензию на обмен криптовалют в Японии.

Рассмотрим поподробнее требования, которые ставит японский регулятор перед потенциальными соискателями лицензии на обмен криптовалют в Японии.

Какие требования действуют в отношении компании?

Организационно-правовая форма

  •  В контексте данного пункта следует рассмотреть две ситуации.

    • Компанию желает зарегистрировать резидент Японии. В данном случае следует регистрировать компанию с организационно-правовой формой акционерного общества. Необходимо обязательное наличие офиса в Японии.
    • Компанию желает зарегистрировать нерезидент Японии. В данном случае необходимо будет зарегистрировать филиал иностранной компании. Также необходимо обязательное наличие офиса в Японии.

Уставной капитал

  • Минимальный размер уставного капитала составляет 10 млн. японских иен, что примерно равняется 90 тыс. долларов США.

Персонал

  • Обязательное наличие в штате лиц, которые будут отвечать за финансовую составляющую деятельности компании. Также персонал должен включать в себя как минимум одного директора-резидента Японии. Помимо этого, компании необходимо будет регулярно пользоваться услугами лица, предоставляющего профессиональные услуги в сфере проверки деятельности компании на соответствие японскому законодательству (compliance-manager).

Сколько времени уходит на получение лицензии под обмен криптовалют?
Каких требований следует придерживаться в повседневной деятельности компании?
Около 3 - 4 месяцев занимает процесс подачи документов японскому регулятору. Он включает в себя сбор и получение необходимой документации, переговоры с регулятором и саму процедуру подачи документов. Ответа же следует дожидаться в течение еще 1 - 2 месяцев.
Вышеизложенные пункты касались непосредственно лицензирования криптовалютной биржи в Японии. Однако лица, которые предоставляют таковые услуги должны придерживаться также дополнительных требований, а именно: Разделение активов компании и активов клиентов; Проведение ежегодного аудита; Внедрение процедуры идентификации клиентов; Соблюдение законодательных требований по защите персональных данных клиентов. С нашей компанией процесс лицензирования деятельности криптовалютной биржи в Японии пройдет с минимальными затратами и в разумные сроки.

Наши клиенты

Наша команда

Татьяна Клименко
Старший юрист
Екатерина Богатова
Юрист
Екатерина Озерова
Старший юрист
Александр Шушин
Юрист
Виктория Пустовойт
Юрист
Светлана Артеменко
Юрист
Анастасия Алексеева
Юрист
Виктория Железова
Директор филиала, HR
Подробнее
Дарья Гриб
Oфис менеджер
Подробнее