Patenting of inventions and utility models, international patenting | Law&Trust International

Patenting in Different Countries of the World

In order to monetize the results of the work and protect your developments, you need to register a patent for a utility model, invention or industrial design. Having received a patent for an object, you have the opportunity to sell it or its production technology and also protect your rights. Law&Trust offers qualified legal assistance in obtaining a patent for an invention. The lawyers of the company will tell you how to obtain patents in different countries, and what actions need to be taken to do this.

Patenting services worldwide from Law & Trust.
Patenting services worldwide from Law & Trust.

What is a patent and what rights does it give?

First, let's figure out what is a patent. It is a special document, confirming the status of the inventor, as well as his rights to the development, technology or sample created by him. After a patent is issued, a person receives the following rights and opportunities:

  • exclusive right to sell an object of intellectual property or technology;
  • the patent holder may authorize or prohibit the use and distribution of the patent object to third parties.

What can you apply for a patent in different countries?

You can patent an invention, utility model, industrial design. There is a certain difference between these concepts, so before contacting the patent office, you should find out which patent you need.

How to get a patent for an invention?
Responses to patenting an invention.

Patent for invention

An invention is considered a technical solution, which can be called a product (it can be some device, substance, etc.) or a method (method of influencing a material object). When granting a patent, such properties of the invention as industrial applicability, novelty, and inventive step are taken into account. Patents for inventions are issued in almost all countries of the world, for different periods - for example, in Russia, it is 20 years with the possibility of renewal for 5 years only for certain types of inventions. To obtain such a patent, it is necessary to go through a formal examination and substantive examination of the application.






How to get a patent for a utility model?
Answers on obtaining a patent for a utility model.

Utility model patent

A utility model is an exclusively technical solution that relates to devices. The patenting of utility models is necessary in order to establish the innovativeness of the development, its compliance with the stated criteria and practical benefits for humanity. Its criteria are industrial applicability and novelty. The validity of such a patent is two times shorter than that of a patent for an invention - 10 years. The very concept of a utility model patent is not available in all countries, but only in Ukraine, Russia, Germany, Hungary, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Estonia, and France. In most of these countries, the coexistence of a national patent for a utility model and for an invention is impossible (with the exception of Ukraine and Germany).



How to get a patent for an industrial design?
Answers for obtaining a patent for an industrial design.

Industrial design patent

An industrial design is an object of intellectual property rights. It refers to the design, appearance of the product, its ergonomic properties. In order to file a patent for industrial design, it must possess such characteristics as originality and novelty. Different countries classify and register a patent for industrial designs in different ways.

For example, in Russia, a patent for an industrial design is granted for 5 years, it is possible to repeatedly renew it for another 5 years, but not more than 25 years in total. The author of an industrial design receives exclusive rights and copyright.

In Ukraine, an object of an industrial design can be a drawing, coloring, shape or combination, which determines the appearance of the product and is used for ergonomics or aesthetics. In practice, some industrial designs are often registered in Ukraine that are not related to industrial products but are present in the Locarno classification, like interfaces, interiors, etc. An industrial design receives legal protection if it has a criterion of world novelty - such concepts as industrial applicability or originality are not used in Ukrainian legislation in relation to industrial design.

In the United States, design patents have been granted since 1980. The validity of such a patent is 14 years, the configuration, shape and decorative elements on the surface of the product are protected by law. Such a patent can be obtained literally for anything, from computer icons to design in architecture.

In the EU, you can get protection for “Community designs”. Contours, decorative elements, textures, shape, appearance, choice of materials in the product are subject to protection. You can get such protection if the design is new and individual (that is, the overall impression of such a design differs from existing ones). “Community design” is protected by law for up to 25 years.

A patent filed in a particular country gives inventors the rights only in a particular territory. Each state has its own patent law. Let’s see if an international patent is possible.

Is it possible to obtain an international patent?

International registration of a patent for an invention is possible only in economic blocs in the territory of which there is single legislation. For example, it is possible to obtain an international patent of an EU sample. The EU has patent agreements ratified by all parties. However, registration of a patent for an industrial design, which would be valid in all countries of the world, is impossible. Nevertheless, there is a way out. The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) allows you to make an international application for patent validation in the contracting countries.

It applies not only to intellectual property but also to other objects. The international application applies to 130 states that have ratified the Patent Cooperation Treaty. An international application allows you to get a document in any of these countries. The corresponding right is granted for 30 months. A personal presence in the offices of the registration authorities of the member countries of the Treaty is not necessary. The application is created according to a single model, so you can submit it online to the registrars of any foreign countries.

How to get a patent in different countries?

As we have mentioned above, it is impossible to apply for one international patent, which would be valid all over the world. Consider the features of patent processing in different countries and economic blocs.

How to get a patent in the USA?
How to get a patent in the USA?

USA

In the United States of America, the Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) handles patenting. The procedure for registering an intellectual property patent includes the following steps:

  • Patent search;
  • Preparation and submission of documents;
  • Examinations (formal and substantive);
  • Obtaining a patent.

American law provides for only two types of patents that are valid in the country:

  1. Patent for invention;
  2. Patent for industrial design.

The total amount of state fees is from $800 for individuals and from $1600 for legal entities.

 How to get a patent in the European Union?
 How to get a patent in the European Union?

The EU

The European Patent Organization (EPO), which includes 38 countries, is engaged in patenting in the European Union. Also, the obtained patent can be extended to some states that have not yet joined the EPO - these are Cambodia, Tunisia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Morocco, Montenegro and the Republic of Moldova.

EPO grants only one type of patent - a patent for an invention. As we have mentioned above, instead of a patent for industrial design, you can register a “Community design”. Applications for community design can be submitted to national intellectual property offices, to the Benelux Design Bureau, or directly to the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain.
According to the European Patent Convention, the process of obtaining a patent in the European Union looks like this:





  • Patent search;
  • Collection of documents;
  • Filing an application with the department;
  • Conducting two types of examinations;
  • Obtaining a decision to grant a patent;
  • Validation of a patent in each of the countries of the Convention.

The total amount of all duties will be from € 3,740.

 How to get a patent in Ukraine?
 How to get a patent in Ukraine?

Ukraine

A special body, Ukrpatent, is engaged in the granting of patents in Ukraine. The patent process includes:

  • Patent search;
  • Collection of documents;
  • Examinations;
  • Filing an application to Ukrpatent;
  • Patent registration.

Today in Ukraine 3 types of patents are issued:

  • For the invention;
  • For a utility model;
  • For an industrial design.

At each stage, you need to pay fees: for filing an application (from 160 UAH to 2400 UAH, depending on the type of applicant), for examination - from 600 UAH to 6000 UAH, for the patent itself - from 40 UAH to 400 UAH.

 How to get a patent in Russia?
 How to get a patent in Russia?

Russia

In the Russian Federation, the Federal Office “Rospatent" is engaged in patenting. The legislation provides for 3 types of patents:

  • For an invention;
  • For a utility model;
  • For an industrial sample.

Registration of patents includes several stages:

  1. Conducting a patent search - it takes an average of 3 weeks;
  2. Filing a patent application - it takes 3 weeks;
  3. Carrying out state examinations - it takes from 9 to 14 months;
  4. Registration and grant of a patent - within 2 months from the date of payment of fees.

If necessary, you can officially speed up the registration process, for an additional fee. In any case, to obtain a patent, you must pay the following fees:


  • For formal examination - 2310 rubles (up to 10 claims);
  • For substantive examination - 12,500 rubles (for each item);
  • For the patent itself - 3,150 rubles.

Law&Trust offers its clients patent registration services in any country in the world. The lawyers of our company will advise you on the issues of obtaining documents in various countries, and tell about the procedure for patenting. Law&Trust offers turnkey services. We will help to prepare and properly file all documents, create an application of the international standard, apply it to the registration authorities of various states. Law&Trust will take all necessary measures to obtain a positive decision.

uptocall_male.jpg

Our clients

Our team

Патентование изобретений и полезных моделей, международное патентование в Украине | Law&Trust International

Патентование в разных странах мира

Чтобы монетизировать результаты трудов и защитить свои разработки, нужна регистрация патента на полезную модель, изобретение или промышленный образец. Получив патент на объект, вы имеете возможность продать его либо технологию его производства, а также защищаете свои права на идею. Компания Law&Trust – это квалифицированная юридическая помощь в получении патента на изобретение. Юристы фирмы расскажут, как получить патенты в разных странах, и какие действия нужно для этого предпринять.

Услуги патентования в разных странах мира от компании Law&Trust.
Услуги патентования в разных странах мира от компании Law&Trust.

Что представляет собой патент, и какие права он дает?

Для начала разберемся, что представляет собой патент. Это особый документ, подтверждающий статус изобретателя, а также его права на созданную им разработку, технологию или образец. После оформления патента, человек получает следующие права и возможности:

  • исключительное право на продажу объекта интеллектуальной собственности или технологии;
  • владелец патента может разрешить или запретить использование и распространение объекта патентования третьим лицам.

На что можно оформить патент в разных странах?

Запатентовать можно изобретение, полезную модель, промышленный образец. Между этими понятиями есть определенная разница, поэтому прежде чем обращаться в патентное бюро, стоит выяснить, какой именно патент вам нужен.

Как получить патент на изобретение?
Ответы по патентованию изобретения.

Патент на изобретение

Изобретением считается техническое решение, которое можно назвать продуктом (это может быть какое-то устройство, вещество, и т.п.) или способом (методом воздействия на материальный объект). При выдаче патента учитываются такие свойства изобретения, как возможность применять в промышленности, новизна и изобретательский уровень. Патенты на изобретения выдают практически во всех странах мира, на разный срок – например, в России это 20 лет с возможностью продления на 5 лет только для некоторых видов изобретений. Для получения такого патента требуется пройти через формальную экспертизу и экспертизу по существу заявки.






Как получить патент на полезную модель?
Ответы по получению патента на полезную модель.

Патент на полезную модель

Полезная модель – это исключительно техническое решение, которое имеет отношение к устройствам. Патентование полезных моделей необходимо, чтобы установить инновационность разработки, ее соответствие заявленным критериям и практическую пользу для человечества. Ее критерии – это возможность применять в промышленности и новизна. Срок действия такого патента в два раза короче, чем патента на изобретение – 10 лет. Само понятие патента на полезную модель есть не во всех странах, а только в Украине, России, Германии, Венгрии, Испании, Португалии, Австрии, Эстонии и Франции. В большинстве этих стран сосуществование национального патента на полезную модель и на изобретение невозможно (за исключением Украины и Германии).



Как получить патент на промышленный образец?
 Ответы по получению патента на промышленный образец.

Патент на промышленный образец

Промышленный образец представляет собой объект интеллектуальных прав. Он относится к дизайну, внешнему виду изделия, его эргономическим свойствам. Чтобы оформить патент на промышленный образец, он должен обладать такими характеристиками, как оригинальность и новизна. В разных странах по-разному классифицируют и проводят регистрацию патента на промышленные образцы.

В России, к примеру, патент на промышленный образец выдается на 5 лет, возможно неоднократное продление еще на 5 лет, но не больше 25 лет в общей сложности. Автор промышленного образца получает исключительное право и право авторства.

В Украине объектом промышленного образца может быть рисунок, раскраска, форма или их сочетание, которое определяет внешний вид изделия и используется для эргономики или эстетики. На практике в Украине часто регистрируют и такие промышленные образцы, которые никак не относятся к промышленным изделиям, но есть в Локарнской классификации, интерфейсы, интерьеры, и т.п. Промышленный образец получает правовую охрану, если имеет критерий мировой новизны – такие понятия, как промышленная применимость или оригинальность по отношению к промышленному образцу в украинском законодательстве не используются.

В США выдают патенты на дизайн (design patents) с 1980 года. Срок действия такого патента – 14 лет, законом защищаются конфигурация, форма и декоративные элементы на поверхности изделия. Такой патент можно получить буквально на что угодно, от компьютерных иконок до дизайна в архитектуре.

В ЕС можно получить защиту “дизайна Сообщества” (Community Designs). Охране подлежат контуры, декоративные элементы, текстуры, форма, вид, использование материалов в изделии. Получить такую защиту можно, если дизайн новый и индивидуальный (то есть, общее впечатление от такого дизайна отличается от уже существующих). “Дизайн Сообщества” охраняется законом до 25 лет.

Патент, оформленный в той или иной стране, наделяет изобретателями правами на разработку только на конкретной территории. У каждого государства действует собственное патентное законодательство. Разберемся, возможно ли получение международного патента.

Существует ли международный патент?

Международная регистрация патента на изобретение возможна только в экономических блоках, на территории которых действует единое законодательство. К примеру, возможно получение международного патента образца ЕС. В Евросоюзе есть патентные соглашения, ратифицированные всеми участниками. Однако регистрация патента на промышленный образец, которая бы действовала во всех странах мира, невозможна. Тем не менее, выход есть. Всемирная организация интеллектуальной собственности (WIPO) позволяет сделать международную заявку на валидацию патента в странах-участницах договора.

Она распространяется не только на интеллектуальную собственность, но и другие объекты. Действие международной заявки распространяется на 130 государств, которые ратифицировали Договор о патентной кооперации. Международная заявка позволяет получить документ в любой из этих стран. Соответствующее право предоставляется на 30 месяцев. Личное присутствие в управлениях регистрационных органов стран-членов Договора не нужно. Заявка создается по единому образцу, поэтому вы можете подать ее онлайн регистраторам любых иностранных государств.

Как получить патент в разных странах?

Как мы уже писали выше, невозможно оформить один международный патент, который бы действовал во всем мире. Рассмотрим особенности оформления патентов в разных странах и экономических блоках.

Как получить патент в США?
Как получить патент в США?

Получение патента в США

В Соединенных Штатах Америки патентованием занимается Ведомство по патентным и товарным знакам (USPTO). Процедура регистрации патента на интеллектуальную собственность включает такие этапы:

  • Патентный поиск;
  • Подготовка и подача документов;
  • Проведение экспертиз (формальной и по существу);
  • Получение патента.

В американском законодательстве предусмотрено всего два вида патентов, которые действуют на территории страны:

  1. Патент на изобретение;
  2. Патент на промышленный образец.

Общая сумма государственных пошлин составляет от $800 для физических лиц и в два раза больше для юридических лиц.

Как получить патент в Евросоюзе?
Как получить патент в Евросоюзе?

Получение патента в Евросоюзе

Патентованием в Евросоюзе занимается Европейская патентная организация (ЕПО), куда входит 38 стран. Также полученный патент можно распространить на некоторые государства, которые пока еще не подключились к ЕПО – это Камбоджа, Тунис, Босния и Герцеговина, Марокко, Черногория и Республика Молдова.

ЕПО выдает только один вид патента – на изобретения. Как мы уже писали выше, вместо патента на промышленный образец можно зарегистрировать “дизайн Сообщества”. Заявки на community design могут подаваться в национальные ведомства интеллектуальной собственности, в конструкторское бюро Бенилюкса или непосредственно в ведомство интеллектуальной собственности Европейского союза (EUIPO) в Аликанте, Испания.
Согласно Европейской патентной конвенции, процесс получения патента в Евросоюзе выглядит таким образом:




  • Патентный поиск;
  • Сбор документов;
  • Подача заявки в ведомство;
  • Проведение двух типов экспертиз;
  • Получение решения о выдаче патента;
  • Валидация патента в каждой из стран Конвенции.

Общая сумма всех пошлин составит от € 3,740.

Как получить патент в Украине?
Как получить патент в Украине?

Получение патента в Украине

Выдачей патентов в Украине занимается специальный орган – Укрпатент. Процесс оформления патента включает в себя:

  • Патентный поиск;
  • Сбор документов;
  • Проведение экспертиз;
  • Подачу заявки в Укрпатент;
  • Регистрацию патента.

На сегодняшний день в Украине выдают 3 типа патентов:

  • На изобретение;
  • На полезную модель;
  • На промышленный образец.

На каждом этапе гражданам необходимо уплачивать пошлины: за подачу заявки (от 160 до 2400 грн в зависимости от типа заявителя), за экспертизы – от 600 до 6000 грн, за сам патент – от 40 до 400 грн.

Как получить патент в России?
Как получить патент в России?

Получение патента в России

В Российской Федерации патентованием занимается Федеральное ведомство “Роспатент”. Законодательством предусмотрено 3 вида патентов:

  • На изобретение;
  • На полезную модель;
  • На промобразец.

Регистрация патентов включает в себя несколько этапов:

  1. Проведение патентного поиска – занимает в среднем 3 недели;
  2. Подача заявки на патент – 3 недели;
  3. Проведение государственных экспертиз – от 9 до 14 месяцев;
  4. Оформление и выдача патента – в течение 2 месяцев с момента уплаты пошлин.

При необходимости можно официально ускорить процесс регистрации, за дополнительную плату. В любом случае, для получения патента необходимо оплатить такие пошлины:


  • За формальную экспертизу – 2310 рублей (до 10 пунктов формулы);
  • За экспертизу по существу – 12500 рублей (за каждый пункт);
  • За сам патент – 3150 рублей.

Компания Law&Trust предлагает клиентам услуги регистрации патентов в любой стране мира. Юристы нашей фирмы проконсультируют вас по вопросам получения документов в различных государствах, и расскажут о порядке патентования. Law&Trust предлагает услуги оформления под ключ. Мы поможем подготовить и правильно оформить все документы, создать заявку международного образца, обратиться в регистрационные органы различных государств. Law&Trust предпримет все необходимые меры для получения положительного решения.

uptocall_male.jpg

Наши клиенты

Наша команда

Татьяна Клименко
Старший юрист
Екатерина Озерова
Старший юрист
Екатерина Богатова
Юрист
Виктория Пустовойт
Юрист
Михаил Иванов
Михаил Иванов
Юрист
Александр Шушин
Юрист
Анастасия Алексеева
Юрист
Светлана Артеменко
Юрист
Виктория Железова
Директор филиала, HR
Подробнее
Дарья Гриб
Oфис менеджер
Подробнее