Organization of a real company presence - substance | Law & Trust International
Substance is the economic presence of a company in a jurisdiction. Legal entities that meet the requirements for substance can take advantage of benefits for residents, special taxation regimes, and other benefits. The requirements for economic presence in different countries are different. As a rule, they include the presence of a physical or virtual office, registration with local regulatory authorities, a local website, email domain, telephone line, etc.

Substance

Since the OECD introduced the BEPS Plan, company owners are faced with the requirements of their business presence in a particular country, in other words, the substance. The concept of substance was included in the national legislation of many offshore countries in 2019, which thereby confirmed their determination to combat tax evasion and deoffshorization. In order to confirm the company's presence in the country, it is necessary to meet two criteria - physical and economic substance:

  • physical substance means the real presence of the company in the territory of a certain country (the presence of a real office, employees, director, etc.);
  • economic substance - this is the actual activities of the company in the territory of a particular country (the presence of local expenses, contractors, profit generation, etc.).

Thus, if a company complies with the requirements of substance, it automatically confirms its tax residence in a particular country.

Why is substance so important?

In order to fully conduct activities and establish business processes, it is necessary to comply with the requirements of substance. When familiarizing themselves with a company’s profile, financial institutions and government bodies somehow pay attention to substance, they can even check whether a company has its own official website in a jurisdiction, fax or phone. The substance should not be formal. If a company is a tax resident of a certain country and shows the real presence of its business in that country, such a company will have undeniable competitive advantages in all areas, especially when opening bank accounts or interacting with counterparties.

Regulators, including international ones, tighten requirements every year. Therefore, in some cases, without substance, conducting activities in a jurisdiction will simply be impossible.

BASIC SUBSTANCE SERVICES

The economic and physical presence of a company in a jurisdiction includes the variability of services. Jurisdictions have different requirements, but we recommend that you have a full, comprehensive presence in the country.
Law&Trust will help you with this. We provide the following assistance in an economic and physical substance:

WE HELP YOU GET SUBSTANCE

Law & Trust provides counseling and legal support to clients in various jurisdictions.

We offer clients assistance in the provision of substance services in the countries of the EU, Asia, America, island states:

  • Belize
  • BVI
  • UAE
  • Caymans
  • Malta
  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • Cyprus
  • Great Britain
  • Estonia

Our clients

Our team

Организация реального присутствия компании - substance | Law&Trust International

Сабстенс – это экономическое и физическое присутствие компании в юрисдикции. Юридические лица, которые соответствуют требованиям по сабстенсу на территории стран, могут воспользоваться льготами для резидентов, специальными режимами налогообложения, другими преимуществами. Требования по экономическому присутствию в разных странах отличаются. Как правило, они включают наличие физического или виртуального офиса, регистрацию в местных контролирующих органах, наличие собственного сайта, домена электронной почты, отдельной телефонной линии и т.д.

Substance

С того момента как ОЭРС представил План BEPS, владельцы компаний столкнулись с требованиями присутствия их бизнеса в определённой стране, иными словами - наличие «сабстенса». Понятие «сабстенс» за последний 2019 год было включено в национальное законодательство многих стран -оффшоров, которые тем самым подтвердили свою решительность бороться с уклонением оплаты налогов и деоффшоризации. Для того, чтобы подтвердить присутствие компании в стране необходимо соответствовать двум критериям - физический и экономический сабстенс:

  • физический сабстенс - это реальное присутствие компании на территории определённой страны (наличие реального офиса, сотрудников, директора и т.д.).
  • экономический сабстенс - это фактическое осуществление деятельности компании на территории определённой страны (наличие местных расходов, контрагентов, генерация прибыли и т.д.)

Таким образом, если компания выполняет требования сабстенса, она автоматически подтверждает своё налоговое резиденство в определённой стране.

Почему Substance так важен?

Чтобы полноценно вести деятельности и налаживать бизнес процессы необходимо соблюдать требования сабстенса. Финансовые институции и государственные органы при ознакомлении с профайлом компании так или иначе обращают внимание на сабстенс, даже могут проверять даже наличие собственного официального сайта в юрисдикции, факса или телефона. Присутствие компании не должно быть формальным. Если компания является налоговым резидентом определённой страны и показывает реальное присутствие своего бизнеса в этой стране - такая компания будет иметь неоспоримые конкурентные преимущества во всех сферах, особенно при открытии банковских счетов или при взаимодействии с контрагентами.

Регуляторы, в том числе и международные, ужесточают требования с каждым годом. Поэтому в ряде случаев без экономического присутствия вести деятельность в юрисдикции будет попросту невозможно.

ОСНОВНЫЕ УСЛУГИ SUBSTANCE

Экономическое и физическое присутствие компании в юрисдикции включает в себя вариативность услуг. Юрисдикции предъявляют различные требования, но рекомендуем обеспечить полное комплексное присутствие в стране.
В этом вам поможет юридическая компания Law&Trust. Мы обеспечиваем следующую помощь в экономическом и физическом сабстенсе:

ПОМОЖЕМ ПОЛУЧИТЬ SUBSTANCE

Компания Law&Trust осуществляет консультирование и юридическую поддержку клиентов в различных юрисдикциях.

Мы предлагаем клиентам помощь в предоставлении услуг сабстенса в странах ЕС, Азии, Америки, островных государствах:

  • Белиз
  • Мальта
  • Сингапур
  • Гонконг
  • Эстония
  • БВО
  • ОАЭ
  • Кайманы
  • Кипр
  • Великобритания

Наши клиенты

Наша команда

Татьяна Клименко
Старший юрист
Екатерина Озерова
Старший юрист
Екатерина Богатова
Юрист
Виктория Пустовойт
Юрист
Михаил Иванов
Михаил Иванов
Юрист
Александр Шушин
Юрист
Анастасия Алексеева
Юрист
Светлана Артеменко
Юрист
Виктория Железова
Директор филиала, HR
Подробнее
Дарья Гриб
Oфис менеджер
Подробнее